Education Board

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Purpose

The Delray Beach Education Board is composed of thirteen dynamic citizens--eleven adults and two students--who have a passion for education. The primary goals of the Board are to advise the City Commission on educational issues, provide policy direction, and to create, host and promote programming and events that support local educational efforts. Education is a priority in Delray Beach, and the Board is committed to working closely with local schools, both public and private, the School District of Palm Beach County, and Delray’s business, cultural, and professional community.

Meetings

Education Board meetings are held on the first Monday of each month at 5:30 p.m.

Education and child service organizations wishing to make their mission known to the Board and the City regularly present to the Board.

Staff Contact

Education Coordinator
561-243-7231
education@mydelraybeach.com

Board Membership

The Board, appointed by the City Commission, is made up of eleven members and two student members, each serving a term of two years, and one student member serving a term of one year. If you wish to apply, please visit Boards and Committees to download an application.

Qualifications

Each member must be a resident of, own property located within, be an owner, officer, director, or manager of a business located within, or have a child attending a public school located within the City of Delray Beach. When possible, the Education Board shall include members who have backgrounds in business, real estate, or education.

Board Members

Member Term Ends  Email
Penny Butler-Schillinger July 31, 2021  Penny.Schillinger@mydelraybeach.com
Eric Camacho July 31, 2020  Eric.Camacho@mydelraybeach.com
Caryn Siperstein Klein July 31, 2021  
Cheryl Haywood July 31, 2020  Cheryl.Haywoodd@mydelraybeach.com
Sarah V. Hough July 31, 2020  Sarah.Hough@mydelraybeach.com
Alison Kaufman July 31, 2020  Alison.Kaufman@mydelraybeach.com
Raiko Knight July 31, 2020  Raiko.Knight@mydelraybeach.com
 David R. O'Connor  July 31, 2019  David.Oconnor@mydelraybeach.com
Barbara Stark July 31, 2019  Barbara.Starks@mydelraybeach.com

Vivian Koppelman

July 31, 2021  
Cathy Reynolds July 31, 2021  
Vacant
(student)
July 31, 2021  
Vacant
(Student)
July 31, 2021